Tirath Singh Rawat, Chief Minister of Uttarakhand submitted his resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya on 2nd July at a little late 11pm, ending three days of intense political activity & speculation. Mr. Rawat ended his tenure just four months after he took oath, paving the way for the appointment of a third Chief Minister for the State this year.

Uttarakhand will get its third Chief Minister in one year. The BJP has called a meeting of its legislature party in Uttarakhand on July 3 to elect a new Chief Minister, with Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar being appointed as observer for the meeting. According to sources it is said that only someone who is already an MLA will be chosen as a successor to Mr. Tirath Singh Rawat. Minister Dhan Singh Rawat, MLA Pushkar Dhami and even Ritu Khanduri Bhushan, MLA from Yamkeshwar, and daughter of former Chief Minister and Union Minister B.C. Khanduri, are the names of some State Ministers that’s making the rounds.

According to Sources, Mr. Tirath Singh Rawat met with BJP president J.P. Nadda on July 2 for a second meeting in the three days he had been in Delhi where he was asked to put in his papers. It is believed that Mr. Tirath Singh Rawat said in a letter to Mr. Nadda, that due to the difficulties in holding a bypoll within the September 10 deadline for being elected to the Uttarakhand Assembly, he was stepping down. Sources, also, added that Mr. Tirath Singh Rawat’s frequent courting of controversies and the scandal of *fake RT-PCR tests during the Kumbh Mela in the State earlier in 2021, and mismanagement of that issue has also cost him dear.

Mr. Tirath did not speak on record about his intention to resign. In Delhi, he only stated that it was “up to the Election Commission of India to hold bypolls”.

Meanwhile, the BJP legislature party meeting is to be held today at 3pm where the name of the new CM is likely to be finalised. However, this particular tenure has been the stormiest in the stormy records of Uttarakhand politics.

Inputs: The Hindu, Times of India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *